Follow UsStay up to date by following us on Twitter.

Black Panther is ‘Incredible’; Spider-Man is ‘Perfect’ — First Reviews Are in for Captain America: Civil War

Captain America: Civil War

The first reviews are in for Captain America: Civil War, and it seems like the newcomers — Black Panther and Spider-Man — have stolen the show.

Critics got to see the film in its entirety three weeks ahead of the May 6th release date. When the social media embargo was lifted, many of them had nothing but good things to say about the debut of Tom Holland as Spider-Man and Chadwick Boseman as Black Panther.

Here are some of their comments:

First things first: we finally have the perfect Spider-Man and the greatest Peter Parker.
— nived (@devincf) April 9, 2016

‘Captain America: Civil War’ is so good, it’s a better Avengers movie than the last Avengers movie.
— Mike Sampson (@mjsamps) April 9, 2016

Next: Black Panther is incredible. Boseman plays him as both regal and full of rage. The most serious character in the film.
— nived (@devincf) April 9, 2016

I honestly don’t know how Civil War works. There’s so much going on but it does. Spidey is AMAZING. Made me smile & laugh till my face hurt
— Germain Lussier (@GermainLussier) April 9, 2016

I’m trying not to talk about ‘Civil War’ by comparing it to BvS, but it’s hard. It succeeds because it’s exactly what that film is not: FUN.
— Mike Sampson (@mjsamps) April 9, 2016

The big battle scene in #CivilWar is an absolute blast. Spider-Man, as you’d expect, steals the show. Ant-Man, as you might not, a close 2nd
— Mike Sampson (@mjsamps) April 9, 2016

#CaptainAmericaCivilWar delivers the goods. Endless Avenger v Avenger action. Tense and still funny. Boseman kills it as Black Panther.
— Kevin Polowy (@djkevlar) April 9, 2016

CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR is a Barry Bonds steroids hitting home-run by Marvel & Russo Brothers. And I LOVED Spider-Man in the film. LOVED.
— Steven Weintraub (@colliderfrosty) April 9, 2016

I suppose it’s worth nothing that, while Captain America: Civil War has its flaws (as all movies do), these first-out reviews are overwhelmingly positive and enthusiastic — in contrast to the lukewarm and sometimes outright negative response to Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice.

Click here to read more of these reviews from Comic Book Movie.

Captain America: Civil War picks up where Avengers: Age of Ultron left off, as Steve Rogers leads the new team of Avengers in their continued efforts to safeguard humanity. After another international incident involving the Avengers results in collateral damage, political pressure mounts to install a system of accountability and a governing body to determine when to enlist the services of the team. The new status quo fractures the Avengers while they try to protect the world from a new and nefarious villain.

Captain America: Civil War is in theaters on May 6.SuperFable