Follow UsStay up to date by following us on Twitter.

Oona Chaplin Cast as Major Character in Avatar Films

Oona Chaplin has been cast as Varang in the Avatar sequels

The actress behind Game of Thrones‘ Talisa has been cast as a major, series-spanning character for the four upcoming Avatar films.

20th Century Fox announced that Oona Chaplin will join the James Cameron-led project as Varang, “a strong and vibrant central character who spans the entire saga of the sequels.” Details about her role — and about the films — are scarce.

Below are the planned release dates for the Avatar sequels.

“Avatar 2” will be released on Dec. 18, 2020.

“Avatar 3” will be released on Dec. 17, 2021.

“Avatar 4” will be released on Dec. 20, 2024.

“Avatar 5” will be released on Dec. 19, 2025.

Besides Game of Thrones, Oona Chaplin has recently starred in TV series, Taboo and The Crimson Field, and the film The Longest Ride.